Hello again, Oslo

My second day back in Oslo! And, yes, Happy New Year everybody! 21st December went by, Christmas came, and then the New Year… with everyone celebrating it. I don’t really know what my point is – but anyway 2012 went by like a breeze, and I don’t really feel I done much the previous year, except to come for exchange and had an amazing experience… Really out of the world. Out of my world, anyway. I stepped out of my comfort zone and whatever I knew, and came to Europe. I am ever so thankful.

But coming back to reality, to Singapore… I came up with three most important resolutions. Maybe important is the wrong word, I don’t know. One, two or all may seem insignificant to you, but probably it means a lot to me?
1. Stop being so vulgar… Need to think less vulgar too. I’m not usually vulgar, but kind of became more vulgar after exchange. Time to change that, I guess. Thinking vulgar kind of makes me an angsty person too.
2. Make good. Achieve something, I guess? This is really vague. I’ll improve on it.
3. Start running once a week… at least. Once I get back to Singapore.

And there you have it. For the first time, I think, I didn’t put grades in my mind. Probably because, as Liyu put it, we weren’t in the rat race. But we are going to join right back in soon enough, but we’ll have each other. (: And all of my dearest friends, my boyfriend, my family. There’s no reason I should be afraid of what I was once in, right? And I gotta do is do my best… And all will be fine. Challenges will come and I just have to conquer it. Life’s tough, but I will be tougher. (Sounds like another resolution)

Anyway, this is probably the last post I am going to write about going to all my wonderful trips… And my last two stops were Manchester then finally London, a busy and vibrant city (:

I basically went to Manchester just to watch THE epic Manchester United v. Newcastle Match on Boxing Day. And on Boxing Day, all trains are not working – so I had to take a cab (which is really expensive) to London Victoria from my aunt’s house (in Paddock Wood, an hour’s drive away) in the wee hours to catch a bus there. I have to thank my aunt for covering for me… Thank you :’)

Managed to reach Manchester at 1200 and met Alvin before heading to the match! I bought a match scarf and we went in to find our seats. It was crazy packed! And we were seating right beside the away fans – only one row of security beside us, and a few rows of chairs covered for safety measure. The hardcore Newcastle fans are really rowdy! Not in bad way, don’t get me wrong. I really respect them for their loyalty towards their football club. On the other hand, Manchester United fans on our side weren’t that rowdy but sometimes Newcastle fans pissed them off a little and some of them will start shouting cheers which made things pretty heated and interesting to watch! And yes, I am very, very lucky to have watched such an exciting match. Alvin was very animated during the whole match, having Man U lagging behind every goal – all the way until the fourth and last goal at the 89th minute (I actually kind of predicted Man U may score then) and the crowd went literally mad. And both of us were cheering like we never cheered before too – and listen, I’m not a football maniac, I don’t even watch football. But this? It was an eye-opener. Not only the match, which no doubt Man U played well towards to end, but also the crowd and the atmosphere. It was unbeatable. How football actually bring people together to bond on such international level, it’s simply extraordinary. So thank you Alvin, for asking me to go to the match. And I will never regret this decision I made. 40 pounds well-spent! (:

The next day we headed to London! The longest I stayed in one city (Excluding Oslo) was 3/4 days, I guess? But London? We stayed for 7 days! It’s a little long for my liking but at the same time I did enjoy most parts of the long stay in London. I like it when you can just chill around, I guess. Feel like a Londoner for a change. But the only thing is that we don’t have much cash – and that sucks. Haha. Nevertheless, shopping was at the top of the list! I bought a dress, a leather jacket and cheap stuff from Primark. Haha. And somehow, we managed to squeeze it into our backpacks and brought it on board onto Ryanair’s flight without being charged extra. #awesome

We also ate a lot of different cuisines – Chinese (Duck Rice, Dim Sum), Asia (Sushi, Penang Prawn Mee), Western (Some expensive dish… and Pretzel!) and fast food. Hahaha. There are really some great restaurants in London! For example, Gold Mine’s Duck Rice vs. Four Seasons’? GOLD MINE WINS! We tried both, and yes, Gold Mine wins hands down. Four Seasons’ Roasted Pork Belly is pretty good though. Dim Sum from Shanghai Blues is yummy, but go on weekends so you have 50% off the Food Bill. Still not cheap, but it is good! Hare and Tortoise – a Japanese restaurant but we always go there and have Penang Prawn Mee, Laksa and Char Kway Teow… which is not Jap food. Hahaha.

Gold Mine’s unbeatable duck rice! (:
Shanghai Blues’ Xiao Long Bao!

 

And it was great meeting Jeremy, Alvin’s friend in London! He let us stayed a night in his room and we went round London together (: It was fun (:
And… 31st December came! We went to wait with the crowd at 8 plus… surprisingly time past pretty fast, with the DJ playing songs in the background (not all great songs, but still. Is there a feedback form I can fill?) the crowd was pretty high and that was cool. We met some drunk… he puked. Yuck, haha. But we got a good spot and we were kind of squeezed but I didn’t mind – because the fireworks were really worth it. (: It is really, really epic! And at the moment of 2013 when everyone were having their phones in their hands taking videos and photographs an idiot decided to pop champagne. And I happened to be standing beside him. Thank you so much for the sweet champagne, but I really prefer it in my mouth than on my beanie and trench coat. Really. But it is 2013, and so all is forgiven and forgotten. Maybe not really forgotten, or forgiven. But I probably won’t see him again.

And we took an hour plus to reach back King’s Cross because of the crowd! Haha.

On 1st Jan we went to watch the New Year’s Parade, and stayed throughout although it was chilly! Loved the parades and the floats! They really put in so much effort (: Cheerleaders from America, Star Wars, Doctor Who, Pretty kites… all so awesome! And something epic happened to Alvin, hahaha. But not gonna mention that too much.

L-O-N, D-O-N! Let’s go LONDON!

And on 2nd Jan, our last day, we went to Westfield Stratford City to chill. Shopped and bought stuff, shopped again, decided not to go Olympic Park because of the rain… and then dinner! Had Franco Manca for dinner with Jeremy (:

Then, it was time to go to the airport. Kind of missing London I guess. It is really a great city. Except for the wind and rain. Slept at the airport at Costa to save money haha. It wasn’t too bad. (:

Yeah, I guess I’m finally done with my post.

Have a great 2013 everybody! (:

Fireworks, celebrating 2013 (:

I’m coming home, I’m coming home

Leave a comment