Dodo

You came into our lives the day I was celebrating my birthday. It was in December 2013, and you were like a birthday and Christmas present. You are the sweetest dog, although you were overwhelmed by the new environment, you wagged your tail nevertheless. Sky scared you at first – and you were sitting by the gate for a while before we coaxed you in. You are so brave. Now you are just annoyed with Sky most of the time, but sometimes you let him in and let him lie near you, and I’m so proud of the both of you.

You were underweight when you first came to us, but you found so much joy in eating. Eating so well until you became overweight in a year staying with us. We were told to help you lose weight – and you did. It was pretty amazing. You used to be quiet during meal times – sitting there patiently waiting for us to feed you scraps. Then mum taught you to bark, and then you decided that was what you were gonna do. It got annoying sometimes, but you always got what you want because we all spoil you a little too much.

There was a tumour inside of you in your senior years. We did an autopsy but the doctor said it wasn’t cancerous. We thought nothing of the benign tumour and decided that we will leave it as it did not seem like it will affect you much, and surgery at your age seemed risky.

2020 came and your humans were stuck at home with you. Thinking back, while the situation is unfortunate, I’m glad I was home to play with you, tease you, sneak you snacks. Nothing seemed awfully wrong then. You were lazy as you always were, but was always asking for cuddles and biscuits. You were afraid of thunderstorms, and we will find you hiding in the storeroom.

Then the tumour worsened so much in a short period of time. Your wound on your skin could not heal. You started to lose weight everywhere – except for the tumour, which grew bigger day by day. We had to wrap you up in dressings, but you never once complained about the pain. Your mouth had ulcers and was swollen but you always ate the biscuits I gave you, drank the water by yourself. You were strong and fighting for your life, everyday.

But we also saw your suffering. You trembled from the pain, and was tired and lying down most of the day. On 16 August, we made the decision to let you go peacefully. Doubts cross my mind every single moment leading up to it, and I still don’t know how I feel. I was choked up and couldn’t properly say goodbye to you.

This evening, after a long day crying, I was looking out the window and said my goodbyes to you. I think you heard me, I think you know.

Thank you for being you, Dodo. For bringing so much joy to our family. For coming into our lives when you did. For every tail wag, every bark, every lick, every cuddle. For always picking up your own leash or blankie and then playing tug o war with me. For loving everyone unconditionally.

It never gets easier, but time will heal. Our memories will always be safe with me, and I will miss you dearly. Till then, my dear lovely Dodo. I’ll see you again ❤️

Leave a comment